FN Herstal Firearms banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So I'm pretty new to AR's and weapons of that sort, I've only ever fired an AR-15 a little bit. From what I can tell the SCAR is an amazing weapon, but I have a few questions.

1. In combat, would the lower ROF (rate of fire) be a disadvantage? I'm assuming no because even in combat semi-auto seems to be used more frequently.

2. Is there a reason the SCAR has a lower ROF than other AR's similar to it?

I realize these are probably dumb questions, but I'm new to all this. :)

Thanks.

·
Registered
3,213 Posts
Well, I'm sorry. ROF is rate of fire.
Are you talking about cyclic rate of fire (the gun's maximum cycling rate of the operating mechanism), or are you talking about some sort of sustained rate of fire (i.e. a certain amount of rounds over a period of time)? Cyclic rate of fire are mostly in the 600-something rounds/minute for most guns. It's more controllable if you have to go to rock n roll. Some manufacturers experimented with extremely high firing rate (well over 1000 RPM) when the gun is set on 2- or 3-rounds bursts and their reasonings were that these rounds would exit the muzzle before it has a chance to rise too quickly.

So, no, the SCAR doesn't suffer any disadvantage for having a cyclic rate of only 625-rds/minute.

It's been a long time since I read the FM manual for the M16A2 that I used to carry, but if memory served correctly, I think that sustained rate of fire was like 15-rds a minute.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #7