FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It's no secret that the factory scar trigger is poop to say the least. I have read from the factory it has a 6lb trigger (that info did not come from FN it is just what i found on the internet). And from what I have read from peoples own measurements stage two breaks around 6.5lbs, and mine averaged at 6lbs 15oz using a Lyman digital trigger pull guage. I have been able to eliminate the creep, lose the sticky first stage( intentionally), and reduce the weight to break clean at 3lb 7oz average.I have not heard much talk on the subject and I am curious to know of anyone else's success or failures with improving the scar trigger.
A little background on myself... I am not yet licensed as a gunsmith. I am an licensed aircraft mechanic. I have been restoring and repairing antique and modern firearms on the side for about 15 years and have done successful triggers on most of my automatics. My AR 10 and Bulgarian AK have had thousands of rounds through them since the trigger work and still break clean with no hicups yet.
Questions, comments, opinions, critisisms are all welcomed

·
Registered
757 Posts
I thought the factory trigger was considered a single stage? I, personally didn't think it was crap-just difficult to get used to it enough to tell where it's going to break once the tension increases. Never-the-less Sarge provided the fix, Gss, show some pics of what you did...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Reactions: STL

·
Registered
1,104 Posts
I would be very interested in seeing pictures and details on your mods:?

·
Registered
1,423 Posts