FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have been to the range three times using iron sights, and the second photo shows a typical grouping at 75 yds (zeroed at 25/300). I'm only a recreational rookie, so don't beat me up too bad.

I'll post some more pics as soon as I try out the scope.

Specs:
BCM Mod-3 Grip
Magpul AFG-2
Harris S-BRM Bipod
Harris RotaPod RBA-1
Leupold VX-6 2-12x42mm CDS-ZL
NightForce Ultralite 30mm Titanium / Alloy Ring Set

Factory Ammo: PMC Bronze .308 147gr

---------------------
4/11/2015 Update
---------------------
Photos were taken with an iPhone 5, so... yeah.

Scope Reticle @ 100 yds

10-shot Group @ 100 yds

Bullet: 165 gr Hornady SST
Powder: Hodgdon Varget
Powder Charge: 41.7 +/- 0.3 gr (RCBS Uniflow Powder Measure)
Primer: CCI #200
C.O.L.: 2.763" (Hornady manual says 2.750")
Brass: Mixed (PMC, RP, & Hornady Match)
Brass Trim Length: 2.003"

·
Registered
289 Posts
What ammo are you using? That's a fine lookin' rifle there buddy.

·
Registered
1,212 Posts
Very nicely done! How do you like the vx-6 with the wind-plex reticle? Also, are the elevation and windage turrets in 1/4 moa or 1cm? Thanks!

·
Registered
230 Posts
Nice rig my friend. If you're shooting those groups offhand and you're a part time shooters, you're doing fine. If you are shooting from a bench try some 168g Hornady rounds. My 17S likes the heavier bullet and will shoot holes in holes off the bench. Though I do have the more acurate FDE version.
SCAR Jan 2015 1.JPG

·
Registered
22,109 Posts
Nice!!!

·
Registered
6,625 Posts
That's a nice piece of glass! Any chance of a pic through the scope?

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
That's a nice piece of glass! Any chance of a pic through the scope?
Sure! I'll take one next time I go to the range.