FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Forgive me if this has been asked before, but a quick search didn't yield much on barrel chops to 11.5 and 12.5, but tons of infer regarding 10". I recently submitted a form 1 on my 16s, and was curious about what y'all thought about gas system modifications that might be required to go from 14" assembly to an 11.5 or 12.5? I have several SBR'd AR15's, and have found that 11.5" is my favorite. Figured id feel the same about my SCAR being an 11.5"

·
Registered
11,157 Posts
marvin pits at nefarious arms is your best choice in terms of cutting the barrel and gas system modification questions if you don't want to go with the factory 10" barrel.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks. Im familiar with his work. He's done some dimpling on KAC stuff for me in the past. I'm new to the SCAR game, so i'm trying to figure out my options.

·
Registered
835 Posts
I spoke to Marvin yesterday concerning this and he stated that if you will run a suppresor go with shortest possible barrel possible to leverage the stamp fee and use. If not, cut it down to 14.5" and perm attach a FH/MB of your choice to avoid the stamp. The saving of 1" - 2" wont matter much, but from 14.5" to 10" matters for CQB applications.

·
Registered
22,109 Posts
Be aware that if you plan on a suppresor, some manufacturer's won't warranty if the barrel is to short.

·
Registered
841 Posts
I spoke to Marvin yesterday concerning this and he stated that if you will run a suppresor go with shortest possible barrel possible to leverage the stamp fee and use. If not, cut it down to 14.5" and perm attach a FH/MB of your choice to avoid the stamp. The saving of 1" - 2" wont matter much, but from 14.5" to 10" matters for CQB applications.

I agree 100% with this. 10" SBR or 14" perm or 16" stock. Nothing else makes sense to me.