FN Herstal Firearms banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
15,562 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got my 5-7 handgun today - put 200 rounds thru it. It's sure an expensive eater :D

Anyway - I did have to adjust the sights. BUt, after I had it dialed in where I thought it should be, I benched it on sandbags, and it shot right in the bullseye.

I need to keep practicing with it - like I had to with my USPc. At 5 yards, I hit the bullseye great. At 7 yards, my groups open up a few inches. But, I'm still learning the trigger.

I shoot no other handgun better than my P99 - so I judge pistols by that standard. I still shoot my P99 the best, but the 5-7 shoots as accurately for me as any other gun I shoot. So, I am satisfied.

Everyone talked about the low recoil - so I expected it to be a tad over a 22 in recoil. Actually, it's almost about the same recoil as a 9mm. And wow - there is a flash out the front - especially with the 195 :)

Anyway - I have a new nightstand gun. I like the rounds lack of penetration thru several household walls. That's why I sucked it up and got it. Very nice to have the rear adjustable sight too.

Nice gun!!!

·
Premium Member
3,590 Posts
ShipWreck said:
Everyone talked about the low recoil - so I expected it to be a tad over a 22 in recoil. Actually, it's almost about the same recoil as a 9mm. And wow - there is a flash out the front - especially with the 195 :)
+1
You know everyone says that but I would have to agree with you.
It feels like 2/3 the recoil of a 9mm Glock and very close the 115gr 9mm in a good gun.

Glad you like it, it'll start to grow on you :D
And Congrats!

·
Registered
61 Posts
Congrats! I'll have mine soon ... but I'm still jealous. I would like to hear more about what your 1st impressions are though. It's interesting to hear considering that I'm getting mine in about a week.

·
Registered
569 Posts