FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay ladies and gents!,

Currently, I am friends with an FFL dealer and can get firearms at dealer's cost and recently raised the funds for a SCAR-H (17S). I'm really torn on whether I should fork up that large amount of cash for one, or set the money down on a few other firearms that might do about the same. I'm a bit antsy about getting it for the cool factor, but have heard the rumors across the web. I have no experience with a SCAR whatsoever and nor do any of my friends (to include the FFL friend of mine). I would just like to know what the good and bad of the SCAR-17 is or if it's even worth it to get the 17 over the 16. I've been deciding on both and know that the 16 would be cheaper to shoot, accepts more magazines, and has much less recoil. I've heard the SCAR 17S has a tendency to screw with optics due to the recoil impulse, so would getting the 16 be a better choice because of this? I like both, can afford to get one but not the other, so saying "get both" will not help at the moment! The price I'd be paying is $2525 out the door with no tax or anything like that for a SCAR-17S FDE model. I've heard that's a good price, but I figure it's cheaper than most used SCARs out there, so I might as well jump on it while I have the chance if the SCAR is a worthy buy. My concern is with the polymer and plastic stuff on the rifle since I've heard stories of the stock feeling flimsy and cheap. Anyone have issues with their SCAR? I'd like to hear all of the good and bad before I drop the load of cash into my buddy's hands this week. Thanks everyone!

·
Premium Member
9,513 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks, akitainu, I just wanted to make a new thread because that one was a bit dated, so I wanted to see if quality has changed or if any implementations were made.