FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6,620 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is the 10/22 a better host for the sparrow than an AR22? The AR22 is still loud with a supressor on it from what I can tell because of its action type. Is the 10/22 any better as far as how quiet it is? I already have a bolt gun that I am having threaded and I know it will be way more advantageous to use that with a supressor.

Also I was on the fence about going with a Ruger SR22 or a Ruger 22/45 lite for pistol host. I chose the SR22 but haven't bought it yet. I chose it because its lighter and more compact then the 22/45 but will still eat anything and is accurate. Would any of you go with the 22/45 instead?

·
Registered
67 Posts
I love my 10/22 sparrow combo. I have a bull barrel and mine is super quiet. You basically just hear the action. My buddy has the 22/45 lite and it is stupid quiet. I have no experience with an ar22...sorry

·
Registered
3,927 Posts
From my personal experience I hate the Ruger's that I own, I have a 10/22 and a 22/45 MKIII, both are factory threaded and I am very disappointed with these purchases. Seriously, I know how much people hype Ruger and to me their designs are just extremely over engineered to the point that it becomes a problem. i.e. Try fully dissembling a 22/45 and let me know what you think...

Now, I am EXTREMELY happy with their replacements, I cant speak highly enough about the two of them.

The first is a dedicated SBR AR-15, the best part is the NFA lower can be used with 22lr, 223, and my newest caliber 300Blk(in addition to many others). It is a dedicated 22lr 8.9" CMMG barrel with a dedicated 22lr Bolt Group kit. It is a standard upper and a YHM quadrail, this thing is silent, it is just as quite if not more quiet than my 10/22 using the same ammo and suppressor (Sparrow). It is the one on the right: