FN Herstal Firearms banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone -

I'm looking for a nice home defense and general all purpose 12 ga. I've been over the 590 and 870.

I've heard rumors that 870s come from parts in China, and that the 590 bolt will unlock prematurely during firing. That also being said, I could get an FN TPS for a little bit more than buying either of the previously mentioned materials.

So here are some questions:

• The #17705 has adjustable choke, yes? Does it come with the improved and cylinder choke in the box?

What sort of butt-pad can I place on that stock. I reckon it doesn't feel too good unmodified.

The TPS has standard AR-15 sights, right? So could I take a tritium AR-15 front post and screw it in? Voila, night sights?

How does the TPS do with rifle slugs? Accuracy? What choke are we looking at?

Does the TPS support 2'3/4 as well as 3"? I'm a real noob at shotguns, sorry.

Where is the bolt release? Is it on the pistol grip in the natural thumb position for a right-handed person? I see pictures of a catch there, and can only assume this is it.

Thanks for the help!

I love my FNP-45 USG variant, so I'm tempted to give FN another try. Gotta love US made weaponry.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
After a decided lack of response I tried digging around the best I could to answer my questions, so for posterity sake I will post this.

* The #17705 has adjustable choke, yes? Does it come with the improved and cylinder choke in the box?

Yes it does come with two choke sets, improved and modified chokes in box

* What sort of butt-pad can I place on that stock. I reckon it doesn't feel too good unmodified.

I've decided on using a Mesa Tactical Enidine recoil engine. It fits the bill as a standard AR-sized recoil tube and dampens felt recoil. This is the same style of recoil-dampening as a Knoxx stock, but retains the functionality (and parts) of the four position stock on the TPS.