Votes: 49 75.4%
  • No

Votes: 16 24.6%
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
3,927 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys, is it legal to use a Magpul AFG on an AR pistol?

I have read multiple threads and what people posted and stated was that the ATF said that an AFG can be put on an AR pistol legally, only true vertical grips are illegal. Also, I would assume if the AFG is approved, the XTM would be as well

Can anyone confirm or deny before I do it?

·
Banned
2,963 Posts
I have read the ATF letter regarding Angled Fore Grips..If i remember correctly they do not fit the definition of a Vertical grip..like I always say I am no expert so if you have information that contradicts what I'm saying please pull it forward no insult taken I'm almost positive that I read that letter before though.??

·
Registered
1,692 Posts
The XTM would be fine on a pistol AR type firearm. Heck it's not even considered a Grip but a Hand stop.

Reactions: s4mur41h4x0r

·
Registered
6,620 Posts
AFGs are legal on pistols. There is a letter from the ATF and I'm sure someone will post a link shortly.

Reactions: s4mur41h4x0r

·
Registered
22,109 Posts
Mega Ditto's!!!

Reactions: Troublesx10

·
Registered
22,109 Posts
Curious, who responded "no" in the poll???

"Come out come out where ever you are..."

Reactions: Troublesx10

·
Banned
2,963 Posts
Mine definitely will have one..A long with a SIG BRACE until those little green and black ~1" squarish things come in..Then it Party Time...

·
Premium Member
9,524 Posts
Well that settles it. One is going on my Sig 556P. I was waffling back and forth.

·
Registered
1,024 Posts
Don't do it man, it's a grip, check it out: https://www.atf.gov/press/releases/2006/04/041006-openletter-nfa-adding-vertical-fore-grip.html