FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So disclaimer: I'm not too experienced with many firearms, so think of this as the noob's view of firearms so feel free to correct me if I'm wrong on something. Also, incoming image heavy post.

The first of the series: Walter P99AS in 9mm

So this is of course the gun made famous by late 90s and later James Bond movies. My version is the second generation of the P99. There a number of differences between the two generations. These include the front rail (to be more standard rather than a special Walther rail), the removal of the "ski hump" in the trigger gaurd, slight change to the trigger guard itself, a longer magazine release lever, and larger grip pattern on the slide.

First off, the P99 is a striker based system, so there is no hammer. To indicate if the gun is cocked or not the end of the strike protrudes from the rear of the slide.

Cocked

Decocked

If you notice in the picture this is a small button on the top left side of the slide. This is the decocker button to safely decock the P99.

The P99 also has a loaded chamber indicator as shown here as the red mark at the rear of the extractor arm:

As you can tell it can be hard to see, so the best way to tell if the gun is loaded is to check if the rear of the extractor arm is depressed.

Now own to the AS part of the gun (Anti-Stress). Walther makes a number of different P99s which defer on how the trigger works: DAO (Double Action Only), QA (Quick Action, similar to a Glock I believe), and the AS.

Anti-stress is a strange sort of trigger. Basically it has two parts, the first being double action mode and second being single action mode. In DA mode, the trigger acts like a Double Action trigger (duh) where there is a constant pressure as you pull the trigger. This only happens when the gun is not cocked.