FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My friend is a dog handler for a police agency. They were recently given the option of carrying pretty much anything they want with them when on a track. He's a total novice when it comes to long arms and was asking me for my thoughts as to what would be an effective weapon for use when in the woods on a track. The area he patrols is mostly wooded country, with very little urban areas, just some small towns here and there.

He was originally thinking of an AR15(AR10) in .308, but when he saw a PS90 for the first time(mine), he fell in love with it. As much as I'm a proponent for the weapon, I'm not sure if it would be the best for his purposes.

He tells me he's typically "geared up" when on a track, and light weight would be a bonus. I'm assuming that the dog is free running and not leashed (close to him) when working.

Going for the PS90 are...Light weight, compact package, easy to keep on target during multiple shots, and ammo capacity (bolded items he liked the most). I personally am not 100% convinced of the caliber's stopping capacity as most of the stories of it's use are few and far between. I have read a few stories about some one shot stops, but they were purported to be head shots, and that could be done with nearly any realistic caliber. Before I could give him my 100% thumbs up on this weapon, and send him into the woods with my blessing, I'd like to see some more data of actual shootings. For my own purposes though, the weapon fits the bill perfectly.