FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I sent my 20 inch heavy barrel FNAR to Short Action Customs and had the barrel threaded and a Primary Weapon Systems Precision Rifle Compensator (PWS PRC) put on. I also had a trigger job done. It now breaks at a hair over 2 lbs. Took me by surprise the first time I shot it. Recoil is significantly less. I have not shot with others around so I cannot comment on how much louder it is to people around me. I shoot off a homemade wooden shooting bench with a bipod and sand bag under the rear stock.

I had to remount the scope and sight it in. My first 5 shot group at 100yds was 7/8 inch using 168gr Atomic match grade reloads. I quit while i was ahead and went to the 600 yd range. I have never shot that well before. At 600 yds the best I can do is 2MOA but that is me, not the rifle. I am a newbie to long range shooting and have a lot to learn.

I questioned spending so much money on the mods but now all I can say is WOW, thank you Mark.

·
Registered
660 Posts
Sounds Awesome! Let's see it! PLEEEEZZE! :mrgreen:

·
Registered
6,620 Posts
Awesome group! Nice shooting. Looking forward to pics of the rifle as those are always appreciated.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
20140412_140049Large.jpg

I still am not sure what I am doing. which type of photobucket url do I chose? Anyway, here is my plain jane FNAR. Bushnell Elite 10x with mildot reticle. Note my homemade bench.

20140412_140055Large.jpg

Here is the muzzle brake.

20140412_140405Large.jpg

My benchrest is an old portable workbench with scrap lumber. The 2x4 fits in the workbench top and I tighten it down. Very stable and comfortable. And of course a Walmart metal folding chair. Everything pack up nice and is easy to transport.

20140412_154104Large.jpg

I zero my FNAR for 200 yds so I want to be shooting about 3 " high at 100 yds. This was my final group and I said good enough. Just a hair over 1 MOA.