FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

New to the forum. I am also new to FN.
I have a friend selling an unfired new in the box FN Five-Seven USG. He's firm on price and won't budge at $1200.
Since this is from a friend. No paper work or taxes. This model is with fixed sights.

Or I could buy the MKII for the same price. Just papers and taxes which I don't really care anyways.

I know and understand most of the differences. All MKII have adjustable sights. Seem to be a little more robust.
0.1" wider at the front of the slide/frame where the front cocking serrations are.
The slide is one piece cast instead of 2 piece stamped and welded.

I just don't know whether to buy the USG or the MKII?

Thanks For Any Help!

·
Registered
470 Posts
The MKII is more durable IMHO and has adjustable sights which are more versatile. There are people in the USG camp who say it's more reliable and stuff.

·
Premium Member
21,737 Posts
Get the USG, you'll like the fixed sights.

Reactions: Cbus

·
Premium Member
9,706 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

I have a USG with fixed sights. I really dig it, but honestly it's my only hands on experience with a Five-seveN. I wouldn't mind picking up a MKII someday, but it's way down on my list and chances are I'll never make it there...barring some sort of lottery winning scenario.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
The MKII is more durable IMHO and has adjustable sights which are more versatile. There are people in the USG camp who say it's more reliable and stuff.
Thanks Trentofdestiny!
:welcomesigntb3: TO THE FORUM! either model would make a great choice!:?
Thanks LESTER!

Get the USG, you'll like the fixed sights.
Thanks jhs!

Welcome to the forum.